Yvette Marie’s Yoga Bag Pattern

A few weeks ago I went out on a hunt for a great pattern to do my very first review and giveaway. That’s right- GIVEAWAY! I had been perusing Etsy, and came up with this great Yoga Bag Pattern by Yvette Marie 

yogabagcoverphoto

Let me start by saying, I’ve followed a lot of patterns, and this one was SUPER easy to follow! It also came together really quickly and was not an all day project. I ended up making two of these bags for a few reasons:

1. My first attempt at a new designs ALWAYS comes out a bit rough…. 

2. I was trying to multi task during the first bag, so it took about 3 hours to make. I was able to put all my energy into the second bag and it took an hour and a half. HA. 

3. I didn’t measure my yoga bag when it was rolled up, so it didn’t fit in the original bag, so the second one I made an inch bigger. (will explain below)

yogabag4yogabag2yogabag3

Apparently I have an oddly thick yoga mat, as you can see, so I had to enlarge the pattern. Don’t worry though! The original pattern is certainly large enough for NORMAL sized yoga mats. It has a diameter of 7″. All I did was increase my bag by 1″ and I was golden. Hence, the blue strip down the middle 🙂

I also really like the thick carrying strap and here is why:

1. It’s easy to construct

2. It’s comfy! 

The nice thing about the strap being 4″ wide, is that when you sew it together and turn it, it’s EASY. You won’t be sitting there for 2 hours trying to turn it right side out. In between the fabric layers, Yvette instructs using either fusible fleece or sweatshirt material. I used sweatshirt material and was really pleased. It gives the strap a bit of extra stability without the stiffness of interfacing, and it’s SOFT :-).

All in all- a fun project and I can’t wait to make another one for myself, I totally recommend swinging by Yvette’s Etsy Shop and snag her Yoga Bag Pattern.

Now here is the best part, my Yogis, A GIVEAWAY!!

That’s right I am giving away this great bag!!

yogabag2

 

Here are the directions to enter:

1. Follow Ruby Alice Designs via email here or Facebook here.

2. Comment on this post!

I will announce the winner on Monday 5/20!!!

(I was trying to use a fancy giveaway app to make it easy for you, but of course- it’s not working!)

8 responses to “Yvette Marie’s Yoga Bag Pattern

  1. Yay! So excited to see it finished..you did awesome! I love to see how people use my patterns to make it their own with fabric choices and detailing..Thank you! Thank you! Thank you for choosing my pattern as your first review, and I love the review you gave! This was fun :0)

  2. Pingback: Fellow artisan features /reviews one of my patterns and does a giveaway of the finished Yoga Mat Carry Bag | Yvettemariesfineart's Blog·

  3. I love this great yoga bag! There are few things I like better than starting my day with yoga! You did such a great job with this bag too, I love the fabric 🙂 Krista @ A Handful of Everything

Leave a Reply

